• Home »
  • Blog »
  • Three Legged Fox release #NewAlbum “Watch The World” March 31st
Three Legged Fox release #NewAlbum “Watch The World” March 31st

Three Legged Fox release #NewAlbum “Watch The World” March 31st

Three Legged Fox Philly-based indie/alt-reggae rockers, released Watch the World, available digitally on March 31st, 2017. After years in the shadows, Three Legged Fox returns to the national spotlight well rested and rejuvenated with a brighter, happier sound. The release will celebrate the ten-year milestone of the band’s career, a major accomplishment in an unforgiving industry known for a high turnover rate. 3LF have remained inspired thanks to a loyal, organically-developed following.

Three Legged Fox found a nurturing home with tastemaker blogs such as The Pier, which boldly stated “3LF has a style that is hardly duplicable or currently duplicated by anyone in the enormous world of musicians.” 3LF also made a name for themselves becoming early-adopters of trend-setting social platforms like MySpace and Bandcamp while performing at major venues across the east-coast touring circuit. Their debut album Ideas locked in airplay on over 170 stations nationwide. The band has worked with legends in the east coast music scene such as Jacob Hemphill of SOJA and Chris DiBeneditto of Philadelphonic Studios. They have also shared stages with heavyweights RebelutionJeffrey Gaines, John Brown’s Body, and Passafire.

The band has experienced steady transformation and growth since the raw roots reggae experience of Ideas, to the more reggae-rock inspired Not As Far, all the way to the more alternative leanings of Always, Anyways. Meanwhile, the band’s 2014 effort We Are Electric saw a more experimental output. The one constant the band boldly bears is being able to eloquently project strong emotions and intricate imagery in an easily digestible format.

three legged fox

After years in the making, Watch the World shows a band who have grown to embrace life with arms wide open, steering clear of angst and introversion. On a never-ending quest to better themselves, Watch the World brings forth the familiar twang-infused stylings while exploring the further bounds of the band’s sound. Recording for the project began back in 2015 at Soundmine Studios in the Pennsylvanian mountains. The band returned to work with We Are Electric producer and engineer Dan Kalsch. When recording first began, the band had only five songs written, allowing the rest to develop as an organic stream of consciousness between songwriters Kyle Wareham (vocals/guitar) and Kory Kochersperger (drums.) Watch the World also features Mark Carson (bass), Christopher Duddy (guitar) and Jon Duxbury (keys.)

Speaking on the theme of Watch the World, Kory Kochersperger noted “After putting out some darker albums it was important to us to make a big sounding album that felt like a celebration of life. These are strange and chaotic times, but there’s a romance in living through that, and we wanted to make something you can dance and sing to.” That mood is perfectly encapsulated in “Stay,” a charming perspective of the world’s end. “Remember Me” continues the reggae rock vibe with a song about impermanent love. “City of the Queen,” one of the few tracks fully written when coming into the studio, shows a sweeter side of love.

[soundcloud url=”https://api.soundcloud.com/tracks/310152615″ params=”color=ff5500&auto_play=false&hide_related=false&show_comments=true&show_user=true&show_reposts=false” width=”100%” height=”166″ iframe=”true” /]

The rest of the album expands into further realms. “Another Year” provides an emotionally powerful story arch over a folksier foundation, while “Dancing Down the Freeway” found the band composing as a whole into a more pop-rock style. “Peace or Worry” blends roots reggae and folk into a beautiful overview of the importance of perspective. “Ultraviolet” provides an indigo-child anthem continuation of “We Are Electric.” On “Get Us Home,” 3LF finds a home in their wheelhouse, with Kochersperger saying “We’re not an intricate rock band, and we’re not a true reggae band, we’re not a super poppy band, and we’re not a grungy garage band…just a little bit of all of those.” The album wraps up with the deeply confessional lyrics of “Ready to Burn,” before switching time signatures for the country feel of “Indiana Snow.”

Watch the World sees the long-awaited return of Three Legged Fox in a way that is sure to please fans, and pick up new ones along the way. The album drops March 31st

1. Stay
2. Remember Me
3. City of the Queen
4. Another Year
5. Dancing Down the Freeway
6. Peace or Worry
7. Ultraviolet
8. Get Us Home
9. Ready to Burn
10. Indiana Snow

follow Three Legged Fox @
Facebook Twitter Instagram
threeleggedfoxlive.com 3LF on iTunes