La Mera Candelaria to release her new album “Si Reina,” on February 21, 2020

La Mera Candelaria, a woman-fronted Latinx tropical dance band based in LA, has announced the upcoming release of their first full-length album, “Si Reina.” The album will be available on all music streaming platforms on February 21st. They will be celebrating the release with a live show at The Paramount in Boyle Heights. To honor the theme of the album, the show will feature other Latinx groups that feature front-womxn. The full lineup for the show includes Introverted Funk, Weapons of Mass Creation, and DJ Sizzle of Cumbiat6n. You can pre-save “Sin Reina” via ONErpm by clicking here

La Mera Candelaria’s new album, “Si Reina,” stays true to, and expands upon, the message of her previous releases. She describes “Si Reina” as a ballad to women everywhere.  Says Candelaria, “In the era of ‘Me Too,’ and ‘Time’s Up,’ we so often find ourselves discussing ourselves and other women as victims. While the validation of oppression is a necessary part of the forward movement, it is also essential that we take the time to celebrate our strength, courage, and sisterhood. ‘Si Reina’ is exactly that– a whole-hearted, loving celebration of the fierceness that womxn, especially Latinas, have always carried within us, and will continue to nurture in our communities.” Ranging from a sassy critique of male entitlement; to a tender, queer-centric love ballad, to a bold declaration  of the  vibrancy of female sexuality, “Si Reina,” as an album, will  play an important role in the critical movement for the decolonization/detoxification of Latin  music, Latina womanhood, and queer Latinx voices

The album, engineered by Tony “Tone Irie” Sauza, and mixed by David “Degruvme” Cardena, is a seven-song journey, recorded with the intention of including the listener in the intimate world of La Mera Candelaria. Sprinkled in and between tracks, listeners will hear conversation, laughter, and other ambient sounds to create the effect of being there, live, with the band. Featured musicians include Angelo Salazar (tres), Tony Sauza and Mario Leal (bass), Anita Garay (congas, bongo, hand percussion), and Abel Canel(timbales). The album also features a guest performance by Oakland rapper, Chhoti Maa.

Tracklisting – “Si Reina”

  1. La Mera (Intro)
  2. Morena
  3. Guiskera
  4. PiƱa
  5. Dame Un Beso
  6. Si Reina
  7. La Mera (Outro)

The album will be available at midnight, February 21st, 2020, on all streaming platforms. The album will also be available for purchase in hard copy at the release show on the same date, held at The Paramount in Boyle Heights, and featuring performances by La Mera Candelaria, Weapons of Mass Creation, Introverted Funk, and DJ Sizzle

Facebook Instagram
Website iTunes Spotify


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: